Mathieu van der Poel wins the Tour of Flanders!

“The rain made the cobblestone climbs difficult. The Kopenberg in particular was sliding and slipping all the way to the top. Then I had created a nice gap, but with the wind it was still far. I rode as hard as I could, but at the end I was way off.

The team rode fantastic. I said that they had to keep it together until the Koppenberg, I didn’t expect to sit alone. The second time I passed through Kwaremont I passed through for the first time. Then I didn’t have the right feeling anymore, but I’m glad I found it again. My season has already been a success. I can’t think about Roubaix yet.” said Mathieu van der Poel

1. Mathieu van der Poel (Alpecin-Deceuninck)

2. Lucca Mozzato (Equipe ARKEA – B&B Hôtels)

3. Michael Matthews (Jayco–AlUla)

Leave a comment