Mathieu van der Poel hopes to match Cyclo-cross world record in 2025

“I have goals but I’ve not changed this. I try to be the best version of myself every year and hopefully, the rest comes. I’m getting close to doing something historical, matching the 7th Cyclo-cross world record in 2025, and you get remembered by those kinds of things, so it will be a goal next year to try and break the record. It’s my first passion.

I’m mainly concerned with myself, but to win you have to cause the rivals to lose. It keeps me on my edge. The better they are the better I have to be, and I think that’s what comes in sports. With Wout van Aert (Team Visma | Lease a Bike), of course, everyone knows the history we have.

Now, Tadej Pogačar (UAE Team Emirates) comes to do some classic races as well sometimes, and he’s also good at that. It’s good for me, keeps me on my edge. The classics are a big goal again this year. For me, I have the same races as I did last year, and in the summer… It’s quite difficult with the Olympics, but I still aim to compete in the mountain bikes and road.” said Mathieu van der Poel, Alpecin-Deceuninck, Eurosport

Leave a comment